Once they are created, Partitions cannot be edited or deleted. This is due to the fact that a Partition may include log messages that are not stored anywhere else, and if the Partition is deleted, the log messages will be lost.
But if it is no longer needed, a Partition may be decommissioned. Once a Partition is decommissioned, the data in the Partition remains in your account and can be searched, but it cannot be restarted.
To decommission a Partition:
- Go to Manage > Indexes.
- On the Partitions tab, click the name of a Partition, then select Decommission.
- In the Confirm dialog, click OK.
- The Partition is decommissioned and removed from the list.