Skip to main content
Sumo Logic

Beta - Decommission a Partition

Once they are created, Partitions cannot be edited or deleted. This is due to the fact that a Partition may include log messages that are not stored anywhere else, and if the Partition is deleted, the log messages will be lost.

But if it is no longer needed, a Partition may be decommissioned. Once a Partition is decommissioned, the data in the Partition remains in your account and can be searched, but it cannot be restarted.

To decommission a Partition:

  1. Go to Manage > Indexes
  2. On the Partitions tab, click the name of a Partition, then select Decommission.
  1. In the Confirm dialog, click OK.
  2. The Partition is decommissioned and removed from the list.