Skip to main content
Sumo Logic

Content Sharing

You can share folders, searches, and dashboards with specific users or roles so that they can view, edit, or manage that content.

What’s new?

The navigation experience for Sumo has changed to help you better organize and locate content. You now have the following tabs to help you access your shared content.

Tab

Purpose

Personal

Default location of any initial content you create.

Recents

Access recent content:

 

Content recently you’ve recently accessed.

 

Content recently shared with you.

Favorites

Content you’ve marked as a favorite.

Library

List of all accessible content, including your creations and content shared with you.

Viewing New Shared Content

You can seen dashboard and search content shared with you by selecting the watch icon from the left nav and clicking Recently Shared With Me.

image3.png

Depending on what permissions you have on the shared content, you can view, edit, or share these folders, searches, and dashboards.

Sharing Folders, Searches, and Dashboards

You can share your folders, searches, and dashboards with specific users or roles.  All contents of the folder are shared, you can’t exclude a particular search or dashboard as private content.

Consider carefully what level of permissions you would like users to have with your content:

Permission Level Definition

Description

Advanced Options

View

Users can see the folder, search, or dashboard and grant access to others to view.

Cannot Grant View Access. Prevents the user from sharing view access.

Edit

Users can make changes to the content and grant View or Edit access to others.

Cannot Grant View Access. Prevents the user from sharing view access.

 

Grant View Access. User can only grant view access to others, not Edit Access.

Manage (Recommended for individuals only)

Designated users are considered co-managers of the dashboard or search and can modify the content as well grant the right to other users to View, Edit, Manage, or Move the content.

Cannot Grant View Access. Prevents the user from sharing view access.

 

Grant View Access. User can only grant view access to others, not Edit Access.

 

Grant Edit Access. User can grant View and Edit access to users but not grant the Manage role.

 

To share content from the Personal folder:

  1. Select Personal (the sumo icon) from the left-nav, or from the folder icon in the tab-bar.
    Personal Sumo Icon

  2. Select the folder, search, or dashboard you want to share and click the details icon.
     

  3. Choose the users and roles you want from Users and Roles and set the appropriate level of access for those roles in Access.image2.png

  4. Optional. If you need permissions to be more granular, you can limit or expand access as needed by clicking Advanced Options and selecting a change in the permissions.
    Users and Roles

  5. Click Share.