Skip to main content
Sumo Logic

Share Content

Share dashboards, searches, and folders with other users and roles in your organization.

Share Content    

Share searches, dashboards, and folders with a user, a role, or combinations of the two. You can edit the sharing permissions at any time and share and revoke as needed from the Share dialog:

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 9.42.31 AM.png

Share from any location

You can share content from two different locations:

  • Left-nav. Recommended when you are familiar with the content and need to quickly share with another user.
  • Library. Recommended when you need a detailed view of the content, who created it, and when it was last modified.

In either location, you click the kabob icon to locate the Share option and the dialog appears.

Share dashboards, searches, and folders

To share content from the Left-nav or the Library:

  1. Click the options menu Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 11.34.16 AM.png for the content you want to share.
  2. Select Share from the menu.
    Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 11.36.28 AM.png
  3. In the Share dialog, enter the user name or role name to receive access. For example, if you want all users with the Analyst role to be able to edit this dashboard, choose Analyst:
  4. Choose the level of access from View, Edit, or Manage. For details on these roles, see Available Permission Levels.
  5. Optional. Choose Advanced Options to further refine access to the dashboard. For details on these options, see Available Permission Levels.

Navigate with Content Sharing changes

The navigation experience for Sumo has changed to help you better organize and locate content. You now have the following tabs to help you access your shared content.


Tab Name


Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 10.57.26 AM.png


Access recent content:

  • Content recently you’ve recently accessed.
  • Content recently shared with you.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 10.57.32 AM.png


Content you’ve marked as favorite.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 10.57.40 AM.png Personal Content you manage.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 10.57.45 AM.png


List of all accessible content, including your creations and the content shared with you.

Available Permission Levels

You can share your folders, searches, and dashboards with specific users or roles. As a best practice we recommend sharing at the search or dashboard level, or if you want to share a folder, share a subfolder. All contents of the folder are shared, you can’t exclude a particular search or dashboard in a folder as private content.

By default each permission level allows the user to grant that level of permission to another user.  By default we assume that if a user has View access, for example, that they would be capable of deciding who should also have View access. If you have content where this is not the case, you can restrict their rights to allow others to have View, Edit, or Manage access.

Consider carefully what level of permissions users and roles need with your content:

Permission Level

Default Permissions

Available Advanced Options/Restrictions


Users can see the folder, search, or dashboard and grant access to others to view.

Cannot Grant View Access. Prevents the user from sharing view access.


Users can make changes to the content and grant View or Edit access to others.

Cannot Grant View Access. Prevents the user from sharing view access.

Grant View Access. User can only grant view access to others, not Edit Access.

Manage (Recommended for individual users only)

Designated users are considered co-managers of the dashboard or search and can modify the content as well grant the right to other users to View, Edit, Manage, or Move the content.

Cannot Grant View Access. Prevents the user from sharing view access.

Grant View Access. User can only grant view access to others, not Edit Access.

Grant Edit Access. User can grant View and Edit access to users but not grant the Manage role.