Skip to main content
Sumo Logic

Share Content

Share dashboards, searches, and folders with other users and roles in your organization.

Share searches, dashboards, and folders with a user, a role, or combinations of the two. You can edit the sharing permissions at any time and share and revoke as needed from the Share dialog:

ShareSearchPrime.png

Share from any location

You can share content from two different locations:

  • Left-nav. Recommended when you are familiar with the content and need to quickly share with another user.
  • Library. Recommended when you need a detailed view of the content, who created it, and when it was last modified.

In either location, you click the kabob icon to locate the Share option and the dialog appears.

Sharing notifications

When you share a dashboard, the users with whom you have shared it are notified by email. A user can also see what content is shared with them in the Library. By default, any user or role you share dashboards, searches, or folders with receives an email notification that names the person sharing, the Org, and the type of content shared.  You can also add text to the email notification to explain why the search, dashboard, or folder is important to the recipients.

Emailnotification.png

A user can find content that has been shared with them in the Library:

  1. Click the clock image in the top of the left-nav bar.
  2. Toggle between Recently Opened By Me or Recently Shared With Me.
    Dash3.png

Share dashboards, searches, and folders

To share content from the Left-nav or the Library:

  1. Click the options menu Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 11.34.16 AM.png for the content you want to share.
  2. Select Share from the menu.
    ShareSearch12.png
  3. In the Share dialog, enter the user name or role name to receive access. For example, if you want all users with the Analyst role to be able to edit this dashboard, choose Analyst:
     ShareSearch33.png
  4. Optional. If you are sharing with a large Role, or a user who already expects access to this search, you can turn off Notify recipients by email. If you do want to send an email notification, we recommend that you include a note in the email for the recipients to indicate what to do with their new content and leave the option enabled.
  5. Choose the level of access from View, Edit, or Manage. For details on these roles, see Available Permission Levels.
  6. Optional. Choose Advanced Options to further refine access to the dashboard. For details on these options, see Available Permission Levels.
    PermissionsShare34.png

Navigate with Content Sharing changes

The navigation experience for Sumo has changed to help you better organize and locate content. You now have the following tabs to help you access your shared content.

Icon

Tab Name

Definition

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 10.57.26 AM.png

Recents

Access recent content:

  • Content you’ve recently accessed.
  • Content recently shared with you.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 10.57.32 AM.png

Favorites

Content you’ve marked as favorite.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 10.57.40 AM.png Personal Content you manage.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 10.57.45 AM.png

Library

List of all accessible content, including your creations and the content shared with you.

Available Permission Levels

You can share your folders, searches, and dashboards with specific users or roles. As a best practice we recommend sharing at the search or dashboard level, or if you want to share a folder, share a subfolder. All contents of the folder are shared, you can’t exclude a particular search or dashboard in a folder as private content.

By default each permission level allows the user to grant that level of permission to another user.  By default we assume that if a user has View access, for example, that they would be capable of deciding who should also have View access. If you have content where this is not the case, you can restrict their rights to allow others to have View, Edit, or Manage access.

Consider carefully what level of permissions users and roles need with your content:

Permission Level

Default Permissions

Available Advanced Options/Restrictions

View

Users can see the folder, search, or dashboard and grant access to others to view.

Cannot Grant Access. Prevents the user from sharing any access.

Grant View Access. User can grant view access to others.

Edit

Users can make changes to the content and grant View or Edit access to others.

Cannot Grant Access. Prevents the user from sharing any access.

Grant View Access. User can grant View access to others.

Grant Edit and View Access. User can grant Edit and View access to users.

Manage (Recommended for individual users only)

Designated users are considered co-managers of the dashboard or search and can modify the content as well grant the right to other users to View, Edit, Manage, or Move the content.

Cannot Grant Access. Prevents the user from sharing view access.

Grant View Access. User can grant view access to others.

Grant Edit and View Access. User can grant View and Edit access to users.

Grant Manage, Edit, and View Access. User can grant Manage, Edit, and View access to users.