Once they are created, partitions cannot be edited or deleted, and partition names cannot be reused. This is due to the fact that a partition may include log messages that are not stored anywhere else, and if the partition were to be deleted, the log messages would be lost.
But if it is no longer needed, a partition may be decommissioned. Once a partition is decommissioned, the data in the partition remains in your account and can be searched, but it cannot be restarted.
To decommission a partition
- Go to Manage Data > Settings > Partitions.
- Click the three-dot icon to the right of the partition name, then click Decommission.
- In the Confirm dialog, click OK.
- The partition is decommissioned.