Once they are created, partitions cannot be deleted, and partition names cannot be reused. This is due to the fact that a partition may include log messages that are not stored anywhere else, and if the partition were to be deleted, the log messages would be lost.
If a partition is no longer needed, you can decommission it. Once a partition is decommissioned, the data in the partition remains in your account and can be searched, but the partition cannot be re-activated, and you cannot change its routing expression.
To decommission a partition
- Go to Manage Data > Logs > Partitions.
- Click the row for the partition you want to decommission.
- The partition details appear on the right side of the page.
- Click Decommission.
- In the Confirm dialog, click OK.
- The partition is decommissioned.