When it's time to remove a user from your organization's Sumo Logic account, there are a few important steps to take before actually disabling or deleting that user. To save the settings for a user and temporarily prevent access, you can deactivate a user rather than deleting them. Disabled users can't log in to their Sumo Logic account, giving you time to replicate content.
To safeguard content in your organization's Sumo Logic account perform the following tasks before deleting or deactivating a user.
Step 1. Transfer account owner (if necessary)
A user designated as Account Owner cannot be deleted. To transfer ownership, the account owner must do this on the Account page. See Changing the Account Owner.
Step 2. Replicate the user's scheduled views
Scheduled Views are stopped. Data is no longer indexed into Scheduled Views created by a user once the user is deleted, but the data itself is not deleted (and the name of the Scheduled View remains). Make sure to create new Scheduled Views using the same query as the user's Scheduled Views before deleting the user.
Step 3. Check for whitelisted IP addresses
Verify if the user has an IP address that should be removed under Administration > Security.
Step 4. Check for access to any shared Access IDs and Keys
If a deleted user's Access IDs and Keys are used in automation tools like Chef or Puppet to register new Collectors, registrations will fail. Delete and recreate any Access IDs and Keys as necessary.