Skip to main content
Sumo Logic

Edit or Delete Roles

You can edit the properties, users, or capabilities for a role.

Edit a role

  1. Go to  Manage > Users and Roles > Roles (Manage > Roles in the classic UI).
  2. Hover over the role in the list, and click the Edit icon.
  3. Change any of the following.
  • Details tab:
    • Role. Enter a new name for the role.
    • Description. Enter or modify the description.
    • Search Filter. Use this field to restrict log access for users with this role. The string you enter or select here isn't visible to the user, but is added to the beginning of each query that the user runs.

      For example, the string
      !_source="billing"
      will prevent the user from viewing logs from Sources that include "billing" in their name.

      As you type in the field, a list of matching strings is presented. ​See Construct a Search Filter for a Role for details and examples on constructing search filters for roles.
  •  Users tab:
    • Select the check box to the left of the name of each user you'd like to assign to the role.
    • You can click the check box to the left of NAME to add all users, and click again to clear all of the selections.
    • To filter the list of users, enter a string in the search area, and press Enter.
    • Click the VIEW SELECTED ONLY toggle to view only the users who are selected.
  • Capabilities tab: Select check boxes for the capabilities you want to assign to the role. See Role Capabilities for a description of the capabilities.
  1. Click Save.

Delete a role

You cannot delete a role if users are assigned to it.

  1. Go to  Manage > Users and Roles > Roles (Manage > Roles in the classic UI).
  2. Hover over the role in the list, and click the Delete icon. If users are assigned to the role, the icon is not visible.
  3. Click OK to confirm.