Skip to main content
Sumo Logic

Deactivate or Activate a User

To temporarily prevent a user from logging into the Sumo Logic service, you can change the user's status to Inactive. You can reactivate an inactive user at any time without the need to re-enter user details.

If you want to permanently remove a user, you can delete them. (Before you delete a user, make sure to perform the steps in Offboard a User.) 

When a user is deactivated, the user's published dashboards are disabled, along with any scheduled searches and scheduled views. A user who is reactivated must reactivate dashboards and any other content that the user created.

Deactivate a user

  1. Go to  Manage > Users and Roles > Users (Manage > Users in the classic UI).
  2. Hover over the user. From the More Actions icon on the right, select Deactivate.

The user's icon changes from a green check mark to a red exclamation point. The user is not notified of the change.

Activate a user

  1. Go to  Manage > Users and Roles > Users (Manage > Users in the classic UI).
  2. Hover over the user. From the More Actions icon on the right, select Activate.

The user's icon changes from a red exclamation point to a green check mark. The user is not notified of the change.