Deleting a user permanently removes the user and affects content the user has created. To save the settings for a user while preventing access to Sumo Logic, you can deactivate a user.
Certain content is simply moved to a new folder under the admin's Personal folder in the Library when a user is deleted. Other content needs a bit of help to replicate before the user is deleted.
Before you begin
Before you begin, perform the steps in Offboard a User.
Deleting a user changes the behavior of the following content
- Scheduled Views are stopped. Data is no longer indexed into Scheduled Views created by a user once the user is deleted, but the data itself is not deleted (and the name of the Scheduled View remains). Make sure to create new Scheduled Views using the same query as the user's Scheduled Views before deleting the user.
Note: The replicated version of the Scheduled View cannot reuse the same name.
- Published saved searches are unpublished. Save a copy of each saved search, then publish them from your account.
- Published Dashboards are unpublished. You can copy a Dashboard, then publish it from your account to replicate the content.
Deleting a user does not change the behavior of the following content
- Partitions. Data continues to be indexed into Partitions that the user set up.
- Unpublished Dashboards.
- Unpublished Saved Searches.
- Scheduled Searches. Email alerts associated with Scheduled Searches are automatically updated from the user who is deleted to the email belonging to the admin who deletes the user.
Delete a user
To delete a user:
- Go to Manage > Users.
- Hover over the user and click the Delete icon on the right. A dialog informs you where the deleted user's content will be saved. Click OK to delete the user.
- A new folder containing the delete content is created in the Library under your Personal folder. Click Go to go to the folder.